Technics RS-1500US

Jeffy

Apr 27, 2014
Orchard Lake, MI
I am thinking about buying my friends unit. The heads are in great shape and it has all the upgraded parts from bottlehead. It has a bypass switch to bypass its internal circuits to go directly to the tubed bottlehead electronics. Do you feel this combo would sound as good as a Studer or other RTR units.

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
I am thinking about buying my friends unit. The heads are in great shape and it has all the upgraded parts from bottlehead. It has a bypass switch to bypass its internal circuits to go directly to the tubed bottlehead electronics. Do you feel this combo would sound as good as a Studer or other RTR units.

No, it won't sound as good as a Studer, but it is a really good solid deck.

Asamel

Jan 22, 2012
Philly
Even if it's wired out?

rockitman

Member Sponsor
Sep 20, 2011
Northern NY
I have no experience with the bottle head pre and a 1500, but I do have that deck with a nortronics head wired out to a King/cello. It sounds very good. If the 1500 still has the stock 1/2 track head I would consider changing it out to a nortronics or flux magnetics if they have one that fits the head block. Stellavox...on this site can assist with that change if needed.

c1ferrari

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
May 15, 2010
Even if it's wired out?

It would probably be apropos to underscore the importance of any deck as a transport.
I recall reading somewhere that how the tape is pulled past the heads is where the game is played.
YMMV ;)

rockitman

Member Sponsor
Sep 20, 2011
Northern NY

It would probably be apropos to underscore the importance of any deck as a transport.
I recall reading somewhere that how the tape is pulled past the heads is where the game is played.
YMMV ;)