Desert island R2R 1/4" 2 track master player

Jan 18, 2012
Drobak Norway
hello folks
Im new to this section and wonder, if you had to ditch all but one of your beloved R2R machines and bring with you to a desert island
which one would you keep?
I myself just aquired a Revox C270 and A Studer A807mkII VU in original trolley, but might have a 810,812 and an APR102 at hand
best
Leif
Norway

Studer A807-Revox C270.jpg

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
If only one? It would have to be the Studer A80RC MkII
So simple to work on, calibrate and maintain. My opinion, with few modifications, it's the best sounding Studer.

Jan 18, 2012
Drobak Norway
interesting choice!
(what does RC imply?)
simplicity and reliability
If I want something for pure playback of new 2 track masters?
best
Leif

tony ky ma

Industry Expert
Aug 21, 2010
Whitby Ontario Canada
I guess you are a DIYER with all tubes all the way, so the best for you is Studer A80 as transport with a out broad tube repro pre-amp in listening only then you will find out the different of master dud copy quality very easily
tony ma

Jan 18, 2012
Drobak Norway
DIY all right! :D
DDDAC1794 choke input supply
Thorsten Loesch designet LCR riaa with 100lbs Borderpatrol choke input supply
Borderpatrol inspired all-out dual chassis/ch mono 6c45-IT-300B
FR TAD in JMLC /2xJBL 2220 in FLH/21" Eighteensound in sub horn system
have looked for schematics for repro amp, but none interesting one so far....
best
Leif

tony ky ma

Industry Expert
Aug 21, 2010
Whitby Ontario Canada
DIY all right! :D
DDDAC1794 choke input supply
Thorsten Loesch designet LCR riaa with 100lbs Borderpatrol choke input supply
Borderpatrol inspired all-out dual chassis/ch mono 6c45-IT-300B
FR TAD in JMLC /2xJBL 2220 in FLH/21" Eighteensound in sub horn system
have looked for schematics for repro amp, but none interesting one so far....
best
Leif