The problems with measurements - part one, electronics

j.phelan

Mar 24, 2014
I am not an engineer - but I still have a right to raise these issues (concerning "testers" like Stereophile, etc.)

-Don't show SID distortion figures or high-order non-linear distortion at lower levels.

-Quote at a single frequency.

-(Makers) rate distortion in volts - not power. Don't convert to real numbers, which would be much higher. (James Bongiorno's webpage talked about this).

-(Power amp) SNR is shown w/o specifying power level or methodology. (Audioholics the source).

-(Preamp) output level data shown w/o specifying load impedance. (Audioholics again).

**Not a good list - but my "speaker" problems (to be posted) are even worse

Thank You

Last edited:

j.phelan

Mar 24, 2014
So - if few consumers understand measurements (and the ways they "manipulate" them), then audio is a hoax. Who do they think they're fooling ?

Phelonious Ponk

Jun 30, 2010
So - if few consumers understand measurements (and the ways they "manipulate" them), then audio is a hoax. Who do they think they're fooling ?

If you don't understand genetics and you read an article that is a broad overview focusing on just a few understandable things that make genetics appear to be simpler than it actually is, is genetics a hoax?

The article may be a hoax, or it may just be simplistic. But this would make genetics a hoax?

Tim

j.phelan

Mar 24, 2014
Let me clarify - audio *measurements* -as shown to the public- are a hoax.

Not in engineering, when they need to know something (in design).

I've updated the list above.

BlueFox

Member Sponsor
Nov 8, 2013
So, what is the purpose of this thread?

Phelonious Ponk

Jun 30, 2010
Let me clarify - audio *measurements* -as shown to the public- are a hoax.

Not in engineering, when they need to know something (in design).

I've updated the list above.