Frustrated trying to buy new speakers...

scooter

Dec 25, 2013
I have been listening to planars for almost 9 years and my new house is forcing me to get something smaller. So, I have been hitting the local audio stores but have been coming up short. They have only the usual stand-bys such as Wilson, B&W, Sonus Faber but have very limited ability or willingness for home auditions (none of which are my cup of tea). The largest dealer in town is only "willing" if I am very close to purchasing one of their brands and the inference was buy first and then we can exchange if you aren't happy. Those that are openly willing don't have the selection that interests me enough to make it worthwhile.

How does one go about hearing brands such as Magico, Raidho, TAD, or Evolution Acoustics to just name a few these days? It seems like I am being forced to buy a used pair off of audiogon so that I don't get killed by depreciation and just flip them if I don't like how they sound.

GaryProtein

VIP/Donor
Jul 25, 2012
NY
I have been listening to planars for almost 9 years and my new house is forcing me to get something smaller. . . .

Your new house or your wife???? :p :p

scouter

Member Sponsor
Oct 30, 2012
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Love of planars+ smaller room = Magico, IMHO. Sealed box will be less placement dependent than ported. A less detailed sound than planars or Magicos, give YG Carmels a listen. I've had both, and both are excellent in their own way. This kind of money dictates travel and listen. Where are you located?

GaryProtein

VIP/Donor
Jul 25, 2012
NY
I have heard the smaller Raidhos and they were very, very good.

scouter

Member Sponsor
Oct 30, 2012
Wrightsville Beach, NC