Hi Fi computer audio

MikeR

Jan 2, 2014
Hello Everyone,

I'm a new member here and thought I would share my experiences with using a pc as part of stereo system.
This fall I was in a position to put together a hi-fi music system including a PC.

After some research I purchased a,

Nad C390DD integrated amp,
A SurgeX XR315 surge suppressor/ power conditioner
a pair of Pioneer HPM-200 speakers

For the computer I went with,

Windows 7 Ultimate
Jriver, audio player
Asus Z87-PLUS motherboard.
Intel I5-4430, LGA1150
Off the shelf water cooling, Water 2.0 by Thermaltake
1, Samsung SSD 128 gb hdd for C:/ drive
2, 3 tb Western Digital Hdd for storage
16 gigs of Corsair vengeance ram.
Corsiar GS-500 power supply
Esi Juli@xte sound card

I have been playing with computers and computer based audio for about 23 years as a hobby, and has had varying degrees of success along the way. When I put this system together what I was aiming for was a system that is neutral in the sound reproduction, and the results are far better than I had hoped for. There is no noise other than from the music, recording conditions, recording equipment or records that were scratched ect. From the sound card I used Toslink to the Nad c390dd. Both the Nad and the computer are powered through the Surgex power conditioner and using a power conditioner made a huge difference in the quality of the sound. I chose to spend the bulk of my budget on amp and speakers , I had the speakers into a shop and had the speakers completely tested and repairs made to one midrange and some caps and wires replaced . I am happy to answer questions anyone has about my choices that I made when putting this system together .

Mike

dingus

Mar 22, 2013
Graham, WA
congrats on the new system Mike!

i went the music server route several years ago and havent looked back. for me its the ease of use, simplicity and complete lack of required maintenance that makes the difference in regards to using any other source.

Phelonious Ponk