Krell Cipher, Cast Wiring, Krell 707, and a lot more.

Lefisc

Jul 13, 2013
Dear Friends:

I take your statements and reviews very seriously. I am not a professional reviewer and I have different, goals perhaps than many of the people who even do it on this site. And I realize that I have very different goals than I had 20 years ago. My goals now are far more modest.

First this has to be fun. 20 years ago I thought playing with equipment was fun. No so much anymore. Listening to music, watching TV and movies are the goals, the fun is in the “software” the music and movies are the real reason I have all this.
So I ask myself, first, “Is this easy to first set up and then use?” It can’t be work. I remember when I had a CD transport and DA converter and all the buttons had to be set just right. Now, ease of use is paramount.
Does music sound like real music?
Does music sound better than what I had before? (A question really do ask myself)
Do I have a true Movie Theatre Experience? Big, clear, sharp, colorful picture with great surround.
Does it look better than what I had before?
Am I enjoying it? And more than that, is the system becoming invisible, where I only hear the music and see the movie and not see and hear the equipment?

20 years ago I would NOT get two dependent components at the same time as I just did. I got the Krell Cipher SACD and new Krell cast cabling. But 20 years ago my system would have been laid out differently so I could easily change cables. It’s not now, cables are more a less a permanent part of the system. So while I had the people here on Wednesday last, I changed the cables too. I also added a pair of svs sb-13 sub-woofers.

I realize that I am now listening to an all Krell system: (2) 600e amps; (1) 450 mcx; the Krell 707; Krell phono input; Cipher and wiring.

So I am actually asking… Is my entire system better than before?