Boulder 1008 v.s. Thoress Phono Enhancer

poj_u

Jun 27, 2013
Hatyai, Thailand
Hi, I'm thinking about buying new phono preamp.
After checking my options, I'm interested in these two product.

Boulder 1008 v.s. Thoress Phono Enhancer
Have anyone auditioned or compare this two ?
What's your opinion ?

AMP

Feb 27, 2011
I've had the 1008 in my system for about 6 months. It replaced a VTL TP-6.5 with the MC step-up transformer and I'm glad I made the switch.

Compared to the VTL (which is no slouch) the 1008 has a lower noise floor, better detail retrieval (without a hint of stridency), faster transient response, and more heft to the bottom end. I had no real objections to the VTL aside from tube noise and it wasn't until I installed the Boulder that I found several things that were missing in the VTL's presentation.

I have no experience with the Thoress product, but am happy to answer any questions you may have about the 1008.

poj_u

Jun 27, 2013
Hatyai, Thailand
Thank you very much for your opinion.
Some say the 1008 is not as musical as some tube phono stage like ARC Ref2 SE.
(I won't buy ARC because of the local dealer.)

I listen to Jazz and Rock mainly.
Anyone use Thoress ?

XV-1

May 24, 2010
Sydney
I do not have the newest Thoress phono enhancer, however I do have the original TW Acoustic / Thoress 3 input phono stage. It is a lively, quiet phono stage with that "tube" magic that is hard to beat.

I friend of mine had the Boulder 1008. His TW dealer had a trade in of the TW phono on the new thoress. he tried the TW phono and now owns it. The Boulder is now sold.

cheers

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
a friend owns the Thoress Phono Enhancer and did bring it over to my room.

it's very, very, good. I was impressed. its not slow and round, or lacking detail or top end air like some tubed phono stages. it's very vivid and lively. and it has quite a bit of adjustability to different RIAA curves too.