Let's Talk Computer Audio

Steve Williams

Site Founder, Site Owner, Administrator
Hi Vincent

I've been in this hobby for 50 years and have seen and heard just about everything along the way including the use of a computer for audio. I must tell you that early in my involvement in the hobby I spun vinyl and then R2R and finally the little silver disk. I have a reasonably large collection of CD's but have never ripped them to my hard drive with a view to getting into computer based audio. IOW I don't mind getting up and changing disks etc

The digital age is clearly upon us and I am certain the days of the silver disk are numbered as more and more files will be downloaded on line, as well as ripping my CD's to my hard drive.

Needless to say, I am a newbie to the subject so I couldn't think of anyone better than you to ask the following....

I am a Mac user althoughI certainly have a PC available but my druthers is Mac, so let's talk about the use of a computer for audio. Everything from soup to nuts. What requirements in a computer, sound cards, memory, high res files etc, etc. You get my drift

Not only will this get me up and running but I am hoping that this thread if it goes smoothly can be bookmarked as a reference for future readers. If you feel comfortable with the topic Vincent, if we are going to make this a bookmark for future reference I think it becomes imperative therefore to discuss both PC and MAC.

For anyone reading this thread and have your own system, I know there are many ways to skin a cat but let's allow Vincent to answer first to give us an idea of where he wants to go with it

Hopefully Vincent will discuss all the different players available as either as software or a standalone unit.

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
Steve.... let me weigh in on this.